OMG! Wheat Belly Flatbread…Hello Sandwiches!

Author: Fumbling Towards Evolution adapted from the Wheat Belly 30-Minute Cookbook

flatbread8

Very excited to discover this recipe. I tried it for the first time this weekend and brought to a party sliced in thin strips for dipping. It was a hit! I also sampled it the day I made it and it served as a fantastic bread substitute. Hubby loved it.  I made it again tonight and thought I’d share the recipe!

All-Purpose Baking Mix is a mix your make once and store so you can make this several times without having to measure out flours every time because its a big pain in the ass! So measure and store in an air-tight container.

  • 4 Cups of Almond Flour
  • 1 cup of Golden Flaxseed meal
  • 1/4 coconut flour
  • 2 Teaspoons of Baking Soda
  • Mix well and store.

Ingredients for Flatbread

  • 2 Cups of All-Purpose Baking Mix
  • 1 Teaspoon of Xanthan Gum
  • 2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil
  • 2 Tablespoons of Vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of Water
  • 1/2 Teaspoon of Sea Salt
  • 3 Eggs

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees
  2. In a large bowl put your flour and salt.
  3. In a small mix your oil, vinegar, water, and xanathan gum then whisk until well combined.flatbread
  4. Mix the wet mixture into the flour and combine, it will look crumbly like there isn’t enough liquid. Let stand for a minute.
  5. In a separate bowl whisk 3 eggs.
  6. Then mix in eggs with the dough mixture and with an electric mixture on low blend. You can do it by hand, I’ve done it both ways. I prefer the results with the mixer.flatbread1
  7. Grease a large baking pan and use a rubber spatula to pour mixture onto greased pan.flatbread2
  8. Then get a piece of parchment paper and oil one side and press down the dough until flat and even on all sides, no lumps.*flatbread3flatbread4
  9. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until edges appear to golden brown and toothpick comes out clean.flatbread6

Some notes on the flatbread…

flatbread7

*Before I put the flatbread in the oven I topped with a sprinkle of sea salt, garlic powder, parsley, and sesame seeds. I like my bread with a little flavor.

Remove from oven let cool, then with a pizza cutter slice into sandwich size squares or strips if you want it for dipping.

If you flat-bread sticks to your pan, because that happened to me the second time, use a thin metal spatula to gently loosen from the pan.

Slice and store in a ziplock bag/tin foil only after it’s completely cooled.

Yum! So happy to have a nice thin sandwich bread. I loved my herbed focaccia, but sometimes it was a bit too thick for a sandwich, this is just heaven. Yay!

Evolve with me.

 

12 comments

  1. I am trying to make this recipe but you don’t specify whether “1/4 of water” is 1/4 cup or 1/4 teaspoon…I’m in the middle of it! Thanks!

    Like

    • 1/4 cup of water, sorry… BTW I made this last night and brushed the top with butter (instead of Olive oil) and Italian seasonings, amazing!

      Like

  2. Thanks – it turned out great. I topped it with garlic powder, sea salt, Italian seasoning and some shredded Parmesan cheese. I cut one piece and used as a pizza crust — topped it with mozzarella, home grown tomato and basil (kind of a cross between pizza and bruschetta) –yum. I appreciate your blog!

    Like

    • They both sound delish! It’s about experimentation and creativity. Sometimes what I make turns out great, sometimes not so much…lol Glad you’re finding my recipes helpful.

      Like

Leave a comment